Seven new Judges of Court of Appeal sworn in

Chief Justice Martha Koome witnessed the swearing-in of seven Judges of ‎the Court of Appeal at State House which was presided over by H.E President Uhuru Kenyatta, following recommendation by the ‎Judicial Service Commission for their appointment. ‎
The Chief Justice also witnessed the conferment of the title of Senior ‎Counsel to 18 Advocates.‎
So far, A total of 41 judges have been sworn into office since the ‎appointment of CJ Koome. This has greatly enhanced the capacity of the ‎Judiciary to meet the people’s justice demands.‎
The CJ said for a long time, the Court of Appeal in Kisumu and Nyeri was ‎not operational due to insufficiency of judges and the appointment of ‎additional Judges of Appeal has facilitated the reopening of these stations.‎
The Judiciary budget for the FY 2022/23 has now been loaded onto the ‎Judiciary Fund heralding an important breakthrough in meeting the ‎Constitution’s envisioned financial and operational independence of the ‎Judiciary.‎
The relationship between the Bench and the Bar is one of core mutuality ‎and we celebrate the conferment of the title of Senior Counsel to the ‎distinguished men and women who have earned this emblem of legal finesse ‎and upstanding character.‎
Among those who witnessed was Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, JSC members and the Chief Registrar of the Judiciary Anne Amadi who administer the Oath.
Skip to content