Members of Copyright Tribunal take oath of office

Chief Justice Martha Koome presided over the swearing-in of the ‎Chairperson of the Copyright Tribunal, Ms. Elizabeth Lenjo and ‎Members: Ms Helen Kiende, Mr Wilfred Ogot, Ms Caroline Opiyo ‎and Mr Joseph Ndungu at the Supreme Court, Nairobi. ‎
The CJ said success of the Copyright Tribunal has an impact on ‎fostering creativity and a bearing on the success of our arts and ‎cultural industry. ‎
She added that this is because these ‘post-industrial’ aspects of ‎our economy rely upon copyright law to establish property rights ‎and protect revenues. ‎
‎“Therefore, you must robustly enforce copyright law for our ‎creatives and other authors of different forms of work to earn a ‎living and benefit from their works and innovation,” the CJ said. ‎
She urged them to align the operations of the Copyright Tribunal ‎with the ethos of ‘Social Transformation through Access to ‎Justice’ Vision. ‎
‎“By doing this, you play a role in ensuring that our talented and ‎creative artists and authors can make a career, earn a living, and ‎flourish from their work by protecting their intellectual property ‎rights,” the CJ explained. ‎
The Copyright Tribunal is one of the institutions that are ‎intended to further the objectives of Article 40(5) of the ‎Constitution which instructs the State to support, promote and ‎protect the intellectual property rights of the people of Kenya.‎
Skip to content