The Court of Appeal

The Court of Appeal of Kenya is established under Article164 of the constitution of Kenya and consists of a number of judges, being not fewer than twelve. The Court of Appeal handles appeals arising over the decisions of the High Court as well as any other court or Tribunal as provided for in Law. The court comprises a maximum of 30 Judges. The Judges of the Court of Appeal elect a President from among themselves. The Court of Appeal has been decentralized and currently has a total of six registries namely; Nairobi, Mombasa, Nyeri, Kisumu, Nakuru and Eldoret.

Court of Appeal of Kenya Practice Directions.

The Honorable President of the Court of Appeal of Kenya formally issued the Court of Appeal Civil Appeals and Applications Practice Directions on Thursday the 19th March, 2015. The Practice Directions are in force effective from the date of issue.

 COA hosts UK solicitors 

Court of Appeal President, Justice William Ouko (4th L) is joined by visiting solicitors from Hugh James firm in the UK, they paid a courtesy call on the Court.



To access the Court of Appeal Cause List, Visit



  1. Mr. Justice William Ouko – President Court of Appeal –  NAIROBI
  2. Mr. Justice E. M. Githinji – NAIROBI
  3. Mr. Justice Philip N. Waki – NAIROBI
  4. Mr. Justice A. R. M. Visram – MALINDI
  5. Lady Justice R. Nambuye – NYERI
  6. Lady Justice Wanjiru Karanja – NAIROBI
  7. Lady Justice Martha K. Koome – NAIROBI
  8. Lady Justice H. M. Okwengu  – NAIROBI
  9. Mr. Justice M. Warsame (Commissioner to the JSC) – NAIROBI
  10. Mr. Justice M.S.A. Makhandia – KISUMU
  11. Mr. Justice Daniel K. Musinga – NYERI
  12. Mr. Justice Patrick O. Kiage – KISUMU
  13. Mr. Justice S. Gatembu Kairu – MALINDI
  14. Mr. Justice Kathurima M’inoti – Director JTI, NAIROBI
  15. Lady Justice Agnes K. Murgor   – MALINDI
  16. Lady Justice Fatuma Sichale   – NAIROBI
  17. Lady Justice Jamila Mohammed – NAIROBI
  18. Mr. Justice (Prof) James Odek – KISUMU
  19. Mr. Justice Sankale Ole Kantai – NAIROBI




Retired Court of Appeal Judges 

  1. Hon. Mr Justice John Mwera
  2. Hon. Justice Mr. Festus Azangalala
  3. Hon. Justice Mr. George B. M. Kariuki

Court of Appeal Contacts

Court of Appeal, Nairobi

P.O Box 30187





Court of Appeal, Nyeri

P.O Box 70




Court of Appeal, Kisumu

P.O Box 126




Court of Appeal, Malindi

P.O Box 2




Nakuru, Court of Appeal Registry

P.O. Box 61




Eldoret, Court of Appeal Registry

P.O. Box 141


Scroll Up