About Us

National Council on the Administration of Justice

The NCAJ is established under Section 34 of the Judicial Service Act (No. 1 of 2011). It is a high level policy making, implementation and oversight coordinating mechanism as reflected in its membership that is composed of State and Non-State Actors from the justice sector. Visit:  http://ncaj.go.ke/ 

Members of NCAJ


                                            Member           Institution

                                                                              STATE ACTORS

Chief Justice (as NCAJ Chair) NB: Chief Registrar Judiciary is the NCAJ Secretary Judiciary
Cabinet Secretary responsible for matters relating to the Judiciary Ministry of Justice
Attorney-General State Law Office
Director of Public Prosecutions Office of the Director of Public Prosecutions
Person responsible for exercising command over the National Police Service National Police Service
Commissioner of Prisons Kenya Prisons Service
Principal Secretary responsible for matters relating to Cabinet and the Public Service Office of the President (Cabinet Office)
Principal Secretary responsible for matters relating to gender, children and women’s affairs Ministry of Gender, Children and Social Development
Principal Secretaries responsible for matters relating to labour, environment and land Ministry of Labour, Ministry of Environment and Mineral Resources, Ministry of Lands
, Director of the Witness Protection Agency Witness Protection Agency
Director of Probation and After Care Services Probation and After Care Services

                                                                              NON-STATE ACTORS

19. Legal Resources Foundation 19. Executive Director, Legal Resources Foundation
20. Ministry of Defense 20. Cabinet Secretary for Defense
21. Kenya Law Reform Commission 21. Chair, KLRC
22. Commission on Administrative Justice 22. Chair, CAJ
23. Kenya National Commission of Human Rights 23. Commissioner, KNCHR
24. CIC 24. Commissioner, CIC
25. Community Service Orders Programme 25. Chairman
26. National Council for Law Reporting 26. Executive Editor
27. Independent Electoral and Boundaries Commission 27. Director Legal Affairs, IEBC


Scroll Up