Three more new members join the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal

Chief Justice Martha Koome presided over the swearing-in of three new members of the Political Parties Disputes Tribunal (PPDT) at the Supreme Court building, Nairobi.

The Tribunal is now fully constituted after Theresa Jepkemei Chepkwony, Mutubwa Wilfred Akhonya and Kiragu Gad Gathu took their Oaths of Office. They join the Chairperson, Desma Nungo and three other serving members Dr. Adelaide Mbaika Mbithi, Milly Lwanga and Paul Ngotho.

The PPDT has a role in the protection of our democracy and realisation of Kenyans’ right to free and fair elections and the right to vote as guaranteed in Article 38 of the Constitution.

The CJ said the Tribunal’s members must strive to live up to and meet the standards set out in the Constitution, the Political Parties Act, 2011 and other electoral laws.

“This is the only way to imbue our electoral and political disputes resolution regime with the requisite public trust and confidence that will ensure peaceful resolution of political and electoral disputes,” She said.





Skip to content