THE Judiciary

Political Parties Disputes Tribunal

The Political Parties Disputes Tribunal (PPDT) is an independent quasi-judicial body with the mandate of resolving disputes arising from political parties’ activities.

In addition to resolving disputes, the PPDT works closely with other stakeholders in the political process (registered political parties, the Independent Electoral & Boundaries Commission, the Registrar of Political Parties and the Political Parties Liaison Committee) to promote issue-based politics and people-centered democracy in Kenya.


Establishment and Composition

The Tribunal was established under Section 39 of the Political Parties 2011 to fairly and expeditiously resolve disputes arising from political parties’ activities. It was initially established under the Political Parties Act 2007 which was repealed by the 2011 Act. The PPDT is an independent tribunal in line with Article 169 (1)(d) of the Constitution and falls under the auspices of the Judiciary.


The Tribunal consists of a Chairperson and four other Members, all appointed by the Judicial Service Commission. The Chairperson should have the same qualifications as a Judge of the High Court while one of the four members should be an Advocate of the High Court of five years standing.


The Chairperson and members of the Tribunal serve on part-time basis and hold office for a non-renewable term of six years.



Under Section 40 of the Political Parties Act 2011, the Tribunal is mandated to adjudicate on the following types of disputes:

  1. disputes between the members of a political party;
  2. disputes between a member of a political party and a political party;
  3. disputes between political parties;
  4. disputes between an independent candidate and a political party;
  5. disputes between coalition partners; and
  6. appeals from decisions of the Registrar under the Political Parties Act 2011.


A complaint may be lodged with the Tribunal on any of the above-mentioned disputes at the PPDT Registry at the High Court Building in Nairobi (Milimani Law Courts). For further information on how to file a complaint please visit the PPDT website

Current Members

Mr. Kyalo Mbobu(Chairperson) (LL.B(Hons); LL.M (Georgetown); CPS(K); FCIArb) is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya of 29 years good standing and the managing partner of Kyalo & Associates Advocates, a Nairobi-based law firm. He is a Fellow of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators (CIArb) of London (Kenya Branch); he is an author and lecturer

Mr. James Atema (Member) is a qualified policy analyst with a strong focus on strategy and planning, with over years of 20 experience. He holds a MSc Economics degree.


Mr. Paul Ngotho (Member) is a Chartered Arbitrator, Chartered Surveyor, Registered Valuer and Registered Estate Agent with experience in Kenya and the United Kingdom. He is the CEO of Ngotho Property Consultants, a firm which offers Alternative Dispute Resolution, Training and Property Consultancy services.

Mrs. Milly Lwanga Odongo is an Advocate and international human rights and humanitarian law expert with expertise in governance and democracy. She is the Director Markallan Consulting Agency and a Partner at Lwanga and Company Advocates. Ms. Lwanga Odongo also offers capacity building support at the International Peace Support Training College, Nairobi, Kenya.

Dr. (Mrs.) Adelaide Mbaika Mbithi holds a PhD in Business Administration with specialization in Organizational Theory and Behaviour. She is the Head of The Central Examination Centre of the University of Nairobi, a certified Quality Lead Auditor with Kenya Bureau of Standards and a Full member of Kenya Institute of Management.

Ms. Desma Nungo is an Advocate of the High Court of Kenya of over 10 years post-admission experience.  She is a Senior Partner in the firm of NOW Advocates LLP.  She is a Certified Professional Mediator duly accredited by the Kenyan Judiciary’s Mediation Accreditation Committee and an associate member of the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, UK and Kenya Chapters.

Mr. Hassan Abdi is an advocate of the High Court of Kenya of many years. He holds a Master Degree in International Law and post-graduate certificate in International Relations and National Security.



Mrs. Tryphaena Nabakwe Estambale is a Fellow of Kenya Institute of Management (KIM) and a Member of Council, Management University of Africa (MUA) with an experience of three decades in planning and administration.


Political Parties Disputes Tribunal

Milimani Law Courts, Room No. 31

P.O. Box 30041-00100



Cellphone: 0734 010 731


see all...
see all...