THE Judiciary


Judicial Service Commission

The Judicial Service Commission is established under Article 171 of the Constitution and consists of the following 11 members:

  • The Chief Justice, who shall be the chairperson of the Commission;

  • One Supreme Court judge elected by the judges of the Supreme Court;

  • One Court of Appeal judge elected by the judges of the Court of Appeal;

  • One High Court judge and one magistrate, one a woman and one a man, elected by the members of the association of judges and magistrates;

  • The Attorney-General;

  • Two advocates, one a woman and one a man, each of whom has at least fifteen years’ experience, elected by the members of the statutory body responsible for the professional regulation of advocates;

  • One person nominated by the Public Service Commission; and

  • One woman and one man to represent the public, not being lawyers, appointed by the President with the approval of the National Assembly.

The Chief Registrar of the Judiciary is the Secretary to the Commission.

The functions of the Judicial Service Commission are to promote and facilitate the independence and accountability of the judiciary and the efficient, effective and transparent administration of justice and in doing this the JSC is to

  • recommend to the President persons for appointment as judges;

  • review and make recommendations on the conditions of service of judges and judicial officers, other than their remuneration and the staff of the Judiciary;

  • appoint, receive complaints against, investigate and remove from office or otherwise discipline registrars, magistrates, other judicial officers and other staff of the Judiciary, in the manner prescribed by an Act of Parliament;

  • prepare and implement programmes for the continuing education and training of judges and judicial officers; and

  • advise the national government on improving the efficiency of the administration of justice.

In the performance of its functions, the Commission is guided by competitiveness and transparent processes of appointment of judicial officers and other staff of the judiciary and the promotion of gender equality. ]

see all...
see all...