Communications and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal members take Oath

News Release. Judiciary,The chair and three members of the Communications and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal were sworn in today at the Supreme Court, Nairobi.



Deputy Chief Justice Philomena Mwilu, who presided over the ceremony, called on the members of the tribunal to ensure that freedom of expression, freedom of the media, and right to access information are respected and protected, as these are key pillars of any just and progressive democracy.


Justice Mwilu noted that the Tribunal will play a major role in solving disputes arising from publications, the conduct of journalists and other actions taken by regulatory bodies.


Mr William Oketch was sworn in as the chairperson, while Ms Janet Wekesa, Mr Isaiah Kibet Cherotich, Ms. Annette Nasiaki Okello and Mr Ibrahim Maina Mutembei, as members of the Tribunal.


The DCJ said the tribunal will play a key role in facilitating the development of the information and communications sector. 


Mr Oketch said the Tribunal will be a vital forum for alternative dispute resolution as in the media and communication sector.


The Tribunal is established under the Kenya Information and Communication Amendment Act 2013, and deals with disputes arising from activities in the multimedia and telecommunication sector. 


The tribunal adjudicate complaints against journalists and media enterprises as well as listening to Appeals against decisions of the Communications Authority of Kenya and communication service providers. 


The Acting Registrar of Tribunals Ann Asugah, administered the Oaths.


Mr William Oketch takes Oath of Office as the Chairperson of the Communications and Multimedia Appeals Tribunal at Supreme Court, Nairobi.