Office Of The Chief Justice

Functions of the Chief Justice

The Chief Justice is the Head of the Judiciary assisted by the Deputy Chief Justice. The Chief Justice is the President of the Supreme Court and links the Judiciary to other arms of Government.

The Chief Justice assigns duties to the Deputy Chief Justice, the President of the Court of Appeal, the Principal Judge of the High Court and the Chief Registrar of the Judiciary.

He gives an annual report to the nation on the state of the Judiciary and the administration of justice; and cause the report to be published in the Gazette, and a copy thereof sent, under the hand of the Chief Justice, to each of the two Clerks of the two Houses of Parliament for it to be placed before the respective Houses for debate and adoption.

He  exercises general direction and control over the Judiciary.




DAVID KENANI MARAGA is the Chief Justice and President of the Supreme Court of Kenya. Prior to his appointment as CJ, Justice Maraga was the Presiding Judge of the Court Of Appeal at Kisumu and the Chairperson of the Judiciary Committee on Elections. He was also Chairperson of the Tribunal appointed by His Excellency the President of the Republic of Kenya that investigated and ruled on the conduct of a Judge of the High Court of Kenya. Prior to his appointment as Judge of the Court of Appeal, he had served as the Presiding Judge of the Family Division of the High Court of Kenya at Nairobi; and Resident Judge at the High Court of Kenya at Nakuru.

Before joining the Judiciary, Justice Maraga was a legal practitioner for twenty five (25) years in conveyancing, civil and criminal litigation. He also served as the Chairman of the Rift Valley Law Society and as a member of the Constitutional Review Task Force of the Seventh-day Adventist Church, East African Union.

The Hon Chief Justice Maraga holds a Master of Laws (LLM) Degree from the University of Nairobi; a Bachelor of Laws (LLB) Degree from the same University and a Diploma in Legal Practice from the Kenya School of Law. He was admitted onto the Roll of Advocates in October 1978. He is a member of the Law Society of Kenya and the Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London.

Justice Maraga has been a part-time Lecturer at University of Nairobi on pro bono basis and is an accomplished trainer and facilitator who has facilitated in several capacity-building workshops at the Judiciary Training Institute and the Law Society of Kenya’s Continuous Legal Education (CLE) workshops. He has presented papers in numerous local and international seminars and conducted trainings in Law. See his full bio [ Profile – CJ David Maraga CV  ]


21.Dr Willy Mutunga 2011- 2016  WILLY MUTUNGA

20. Johnson Evans Gicheru 2003-2011

19. Bernard Chunga 1999-2003

18. Zachaeus Richard Chesoni 1997-1999

17. Abdul    Majid   Cockar 1994-1997

16. Fred    Kwasi   Apaloo 1993-1994

15. Robin Allan Winston Hancox   1989-1993

14. Cecil Henry Ethel wood Miller 1986- 1989

13. Chunilal Bhagwandas Madan 1985-1986

12. Sir  Alfred  Henry  Simpson 1982-1985

11. Sir James Wicks  1971- 1982

10. Kitili Mwendwa 1968-1971

9. Arthur Dennis Farrel 1968

8. Sir Sir John Ainley     From 1962 to post independence

7. Sir Ronald Ormiston Sinclair (1803-1996)  Chief justice from 1957 to 1962

6. Sir Kenneth Kennedy O’connor (1896-1985)  Chief justice from 1954 to 1957

5. Sir Harace Hector Hearne (1892-1962)   Chief justice from 1951 to 1954  

4. Sir John Harry Barclay Nihill (1892-1975)  Chief justice from 1946

3. Sir Joseph Sheridan (1882-1964)   Chief justice from 1934 to 1946

2. Lt. Col. Jacob William Barth (1871-1941)  Chief justice from 1920 to 1934

1. Sir Robert William Hamilton (1867- 1944)  Chief justice from 1906 to 1920 

Chief Justices

Hon. David Kenani Maraga

Chief Justice
2016- ToDate

Hon. Dr Willy Mutunga

Chief Justice
2011- 2016

Zachaeus Richard Chesoni

Chief Justice

Hon. Justice Abdul Majid Cocker E.G.H

Chief Justice

Hon. Justice Chunilal Bhagwandas Madan

Chief Justice

Hon. Justice Cecil H.E. Miller E.B.S E.G.H

Chief Justice

Hon. Justice Bernard Chunga

Chief Justice

Hon. Justice Kitili Mwendwa

Chief Justice

Sir John Ainley

Chief Justice

Hon. Sir James Wicks

Chief Justice
1971- 1982

Robin Allan Winston Hancox

Chief Justice

Johnson Evans Gicheru

Chief Justice
Scroll Up